A key highlight to group 3’s residency at Shiro Oni Studio is the Onishi Summer Music Festival. During this festival thousands of people from all over come to visit and see the seriously intense taiko drumming that goes on. What is normally small quiet town is flooded with people.

From the start of July each neighborhood -people of all ages – practices drumming every night from around 6:30pm until 10pm.

It is serious business.

So for the past 4 days I have been trying hard to become a drum master and skillfully play what the people of Onishi have been playing since they were toddlers.

It’s a pretty steep goal. But luckily one of the workshops the residency provides is a private lesson with the drum teacher to break down the complex rhythm. 

Slowly I’m getting the hang of it.

If you’re friends with me on Facebook you might have seen me tagged in one of our first practices.

I promise I’ve improved since then!

The goal is to be able to have a couple seconds of playing time on the shrine by the festival date, July 15th & 16th.

Will I get become Christina, Drum Master? 

Stay tuned to my blog to find out 🙂

Leave a Reply

